Why Did I Think The Three Soldiers Who Died Were White Men?

Garrick McFadden
4 min readFeb 7, 2024

The myths we were taught still haunt us no matter how much work we have done.

Sgt. William Jerome Rivers, 46, Spc. Kennedy Ladon Sanders, 24, and Spc. Breonna Alexsondria Moffett, source the AP

The news that our soldiers were killed in a drone attack broke through the noise of everyday life. They were on one of our many bases we have amassed around the world. It was incredible to learn that our defenses were breached. An enemy drone was able to deliver its deadly payload, snuffing out the lives of three Americans and injuring over 40 servicemembers. I was horrified and angered.

I saw Governors, including my friend, Governor Hobbs, tweeting thoughts, prayers, and wishes for a speedy recovery for the over 40 injured soldiers. This rare display of bipartisan concern made me stop and reflect momentarily.

In my contemplation, I became saddened and worried. I was sad because although everyone puts on the uniform of our armed forces, they are prepared to sacrifice their lives for our safety, comfort, and freedom; they did not have to die.

I was worried because we had to retaliate. If Biden failed to avenge the American blood, he would kiss reelection goodbye. Our response had to be over the top. We had to send a clear message to everyone that there are stern consequences for injuring and killing Americans.

--

--

Garrick McFadden

I am a civil-rights attorney. I write about #whiteness, #racism, #hiphop, policing & politics. https://gamesqlaw.com/index.php/thoughts/